Testimonials

 

Reviews of Overbeck Cottage

Pat & Jim - April 2017

"A fabulous relaxing week in Overbeck Cottage. We've loved watching all the wildlife especially the heron catching and eating fish. The location of the cottage is amazing and we'd love to have a return visit."

Jo & Darren - March 2017

"Fantastic location. The heron visited most nights. Also saw 2 otters swimming up and down the river much to our surprise and delight. Will definitely return to Overbeck for another holiday in the future."

Bill & Sue - March 2017

"Our 4th visit and love it more every year. Plenty of bird life including a kingfisher and also saw a deer. With luck will be back next year."

Eric & Marilyn - March 2017

"Fabulous cottage - perfect in every way. Just adore this cottage. Loved the little ducks outside window - feed them every day."

Phil & Jackie - March 2017

"Our umpteenth visit to Overbeck but first in March. Had a brilliant week walking in superb weather. All the usual wildlife including heron - night fishing, many variety of tits, many ducks, bats at dusk, mice on patio. The kingfisher and joy of joy - two families of weasels."

Susanne & Barry - February 2017

"Well maintained cottage in a very good location. River view is excellent."

Owen & Joy - February 2017

"We have managed to have a good walk everyday - not even looking at the shops but spending all our time on the fells. We very much hope to return again this time next year. Thanks for everything. It was all lovely."

Frank & Sally - December 2016

"It is our first time at the cottage and we have had a super week. The cottage has been very comfortable - home from home. Lots of lovely walks straight from the cottage."

Margaret & Andy - November 2016

"Love - love - love Overbeck Cottage."

Linda & Roy - October 2016

"First time here, had a fantastic week. Lots of long fell walks, great to come back to Overbeck Cottage after a busy day. Very comfortable accommodation. Never tired of the beautiful view out of the windows."

Yvonne & Richard - October 2016

"Our 4th visit. Always a relaxing and lovely break."

Cathy & Allen - October 2016

"Yes - here again. We can't get enough of this place. It really is home from home."

Caroline & Alan - September 2016

"Love the Lakes and love this house. Saw an otter, deer, ducks & robin. We shall definitely return."

Denise & Alan - September 2016

"Our 2nd visit - again superb. A beautiful cottage to return to each day. We will return again next year."

Craig & Linda - August 2016

"Our 4th stay. Cottage lovely as usual. Booked again for next year. Love the bed."

Claire & Ian - August 2016

"A lovely 1st stay at Overbeck. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the sunshine with the windows open overlooking the river."

Bruce & Jen - May 2016

"Comfortable, well equipped and welcoming."

Jackie & Phil - April 2016

"Managed to walk from here every day without using the car at all. This place just keeps on improving after so many visits and we will most definitely be back. Was waiting for heron to arrive and saw otter in the river opposite!"

SAMPLE OF EARLIER REVIEWS

Craig & Melanie - July 2014

"Location of cottage brilliant for lots of walks without needing a car."

Tine & Michael - June 2014

"Beautiful cottage in a great location. Excellent base for exploring the Lakes"

Jan & Kev - May 2014

"A lovely cottage in a beautiful setting"

Pete & Debbie - April 2014

"Lovely cottage, stunning views. We were very impressed and will be back!"

Alex & Janet - March 2014

"Fantastic cottage, setting & location. Very cozy and comfortable here - thank you"

Owen & Joy - February 2014

"A lovely week - gone far too quickly. Enjoyed the lovely cottage: so cozy!. Hope to be back next year"

W & Ian - February 2014

"A wonderful haven from the wind/rain. Always a pleasure to return to and our first otter sighting!"

Carlen & Olivia - January 2014

"Lovely snug warm cottage. A pleasure to come back to after some great days out walking"

Margaret & Peter - December 2013

"Lovely cottage, great location and views. Enjoyed a really relaxing week"

Chris - December 2013

"Lovely cosy cottage - perfect for a winter break. Watching the river rise and fall in this extreme weather has been fascinating. Birds and wildlife a treat"

Ron & Janet - November 2013

"Had a great time in this lovely cottage. Good bird watching and walking"

Alex & Cathy - October 2013

"Another lovely week - autumn colour superb. Can't wait until next June for 2 weeks here"

Derek & Louise - September 2013

"Comfortable, tastefully furnished accommodation. The view from the balcony was delightful. We enjoyed watching the wildlife. Will recommend 'Overbeck' willingly"

Craig & Linda - September 2013

"Lovely cottage. Enjoyed our stay. Fed the ducks, heard the owls and seen the bats. Be back in August 2014"

Maureen & Alan - July 2013

"Enjoyed stay at Overbeck. Great views of river and wildlife"

Pete & Sue - July 2013

"5th visit to Overbeck. Great weather and walks. Love the river and wildlife"

Cathy & Allen - July 2013

"We have been visiting the same cottage for 12 years and love it. We have already booked two weeks next year and hope to come again later this year, holidays permitting. We have a truly great time as always"

Reviews of Middlebeck Cottage

Dave & Sue - April 2017

"Another lovely week in this fabulous cottage - stayed for 6th time. Saw young deer in garden and have seen heron here every night.”

Chris & Judi - March 2017

"We've stayed at a fair number of lakes' cottages but this has to be the best. Totally smitten! The cottage, it's location, the outlook...you have it exactly as we'd aspire to ourselves.”

Marion & Tony - March 2017

"Very relaxing and comfortable. Lovely outlook.”

Michael & Helen - January 2017

"3rd stay. Cottage even better. Lovely & quiet & relaxing. Just what we needed.”

Graham & Pat - December 2016

"We have had a lovely relaxing Christmas in this lovely cottage.”

Dave & Sue - October 2016

"Another wonderful stay in this gorgeous cottage – and the weather has been fantastic. Have been off walking every day and done some new walks – Sunday was perfect for the view from Loughrigg summit. Walked to Grasmere to back a couple of times via different routes. Looking forward to returning next year.”

Michael & Kayleigh – September 2016

"Had an amazing stay here. Such a beautiful place. It was so special to us as its our first visit but also our honeymoon. So peaceful on a night. The bed so comfy. We will certainly be coming again. "

Eileen & Ed – September 2016

"Really enjoyed our first visit, our daughter and son in law next door (their second visit). Cottage suited us in every way and we slept like babies.”

Joy & Grenville – September 2016

”Lovely accommodation in splendid setting. Good wifi connection much appreciated. Best property we have been to in Lake District”

Bill & Kim – August 2016

”Wow Wow Wow. What a wonderful cottage. Ideal location. Great facilities. We will be back.

Sonia & Jude – August 2016

”Lovely cottage in a great location. Cottage had everything we needed

Anne & Willie - July 2016

”Absolutely love coming to this beautiful cottage at such a wonderful location. See you again next year.”

Eimear & Alex - June 2016

”This wonderful cottage feels like our second home. The windows are never closed so we can enjoy the sounds of the water and birds. Fabulous time yet again. We will definitely return next year.”

Dave & Sue - April 2016

”4th stay in this delightful cottage and just want to keep coming back. Have always managed to sit in the garden a few times having a coffee & reading the papers. Saw the heron every day – now feels like an old friend.”

SAMPLE OF EARLIER REVIEWS

Peter & Carol - May 2015

Beautiful cottage - as Phil & Kirsty would say 'location, location, location'. We'll be back. This cottage has it all. Saw loads of wildlife including a Jay.

Trina & Simon - April 2015

A very welcoming and cozy cottage. Lots to do and we only took the car out once! Beautiful surroundings and very much looking forward to coming back.

Sue & Peter - January 2015

A very comfortable cottage in a wonderful position by the river - superb views of the mountains!

Rog & Ann - November 2014

"First time in the Lake District. Fabulous. We couldn't ask for anything more in a cottage - beautiful. Saw otters on two separate mornings swimming along river and running across gravel bar. Also Kingfishers and heron. Great walks from cottage."

Pat & Nigel Fabb - August 2013

"Lovely cottage, beautiful surroundings. Excellent bus service to places of interest. Nicest cottage we have stayed in"

Simon & Jane Archer - May 2013

"Nicest place we've stayed in in Ambleside and will definitely come back. Had a wonderful break and cottage was a real haven of peace and relaxation. Tea and cake in garden after walks!"

Reviews of Riverside Lodge

 

 

Friel Family - October 2016

"Love the house and its setting. Riverside Lodge was a great choice for comfort & location.”

Granata Family - October 2016

"Very comfortable accommodation – had a lovely time. Snooker table a great bonus for late night fun.”

Osbourne Family - September 2016

"Always have a super time here. Beds are comfortable, living room is very cozy and snooker table provides hours of competitive fun.”

Hoffmann Family - September 2016

"We had a great time exploring the area. The house is lovely. We spent several cozy nights playing pool and reading.”

Leonard Family - September 2016

"Teenagers and wannabe teenagers enjoyed the excellent wifi and pool table. Keep your eyes open for the late night strolling badgers wandering over the footbridge. Looking forward to next year and another magical time.”

Bensley Family - August 2016

"We had a great week. Very comfortable cottage and great location. This place will be highly recommended ”

Inglis Family - July 2016

"We’ve had a fab stay at Riverside Lodge. The Lodge is gorgeous and big enough to accommodate the six of us – even on wet Lakeland days. We will definitely be back. We particularly enjoyed playing in the stream.”

Bieger Family - July 2016

" We have really enjoyed our stay at this lovely house. We had big lucjk with the weather and therefore we were out during the day but always looked forward to come back home and read a book in the lovely living room or play some snooker. We’re hoping to come back soon..”

Turnnidge Family - July 2016

"Very comfortable high spec accommodation. Wifi was very useful. House situated in a very quiet & peaceful site but also very close to the shops and restaurants in Ambleside. Good to have private parking. Hope to return again.”

Brown Family - July 2016

"A beautiful house in a great location. We found the private parking a huge bonus as all family members traveled from different places. Very comfortable beds with quality bedding and towels made for a very comfortable stay. The private riverside garden was extremely enjoyable – sitting out in the sun and playing garden games and fishing. The pool table was a great hit with everyone. Would highly recommend & we hope to visit again in future as we’ve all left feeling greatly refreshed and relaxed.”

Martin Family - June 2016

"A fantastic very high quality & well maintained holiday home. Excellent location – best we have stayed in the lakes. Beds exceptionally comfortable. The pool table was an amazing addition and we made the most of it. Every possible appliance with first class manuals to explain everything. Boot room was really useful for us walkers.”

Smiths & Coes - June 2016

"A very nice property with everything you could require when away from home. Excellent location and ideal for local walks. We thoroughly enjoyed the week and will be back at some other time.”

SAMPLE OF EARLIER REVIEWS

Little Family - July 2015

"We saw the otters, heron, stoat, kingfisher - all these just from the picnic bench in the garden! The house was even better than the pictures showed on the website (just a real wow as we walked round on the first day)"

Goddard Family - March 2015

"A lovely week in a beautiful setting. Very convenient for the shops, lake and lovely walks from the door. Enjoyed the ducks, pool table and privacy of the house. Very well equipped house and comfy for our family of 6."

Leonard Family - March 2015

"Must be the best accommodation we have experienced so far in the Lakes over the past 15 years! Loved the waterside location, private garden, ease of parking, location to Ambleside, wood burner, comfy beds and high standard of bathrooms."

McCormack Family - March 2015

"Lovely house and in the perfect location for young couple with a baby. Stunning views from the living room and a week of total piece and tranquility - will definitely be back in future."

Silman Family - February 2015

"What a wonderfully fitted, furnished and delightfully located cottage. Having stayed in cottages in the Lake District for 30 years this is the most outstanding one we have ever stayed in! We felt privileged to have been guests in such a perfectly luxurious accommodation - thank you - we'll be back!"

McKie Family - January 2015

"We've had an unexpectedly super holiday. We'll certainly return for a winter break as the views with snow on the hills were spectacular. We spent the whole week walking virtually from the door or a short drive away. We've stayed in many Lakeland cottages over the last 40 years but Riverside Lodge ranks among the best and such a convenient location."

Bliss family - December 2014

"The location was perfect - close to Ambleside and nestled beside the river. We truly loved it and had a wonderful New Year. We can't wait to come again. So until next time...

PS the beds were wonderfully comfortable!"

Osborne family - September 2014

"We come to Ambleside a lot but this is the first time we've stayed at Riverside Lodge. We have loved it. The house is really well finished and comfortable. It's a home from home and we feel very lucky to have found such a wonderful place. The idyllic riverside setting is perfect - so convenient as a base to go everywhere in the Lake District."

Jason, Jacqui & family - June 2014

"This was our first holiday with 3 generations of the family so was very special. I have to say this was a real 'home from home' experience and we felt so comfortable. This is a little paradise! We very much look forward to staying here again soon!"